rightserver.blogg.se

Atc scm11 version 2
Atc scm11 version 2









atc scm11 version 2

Yet, I find these qualities to be really good only if you are playing acoustics or folk or jazz, basically anything more 'analogue' sounding. I've not personally listened for soundstage depth, I don't find it very important actually.īut I agree with you that 4/5's midrange is more engaging, emotive and real. Try playing a quartet with both speakers and you will see that ATC puts out a wider sound stage. I believe all ls3/5a variants are inherently 90% similar with one another, and if that is really the case, I think atc scm11 project a larger soundstage than ls3/5a (or in this case 4/5). I have p3esr 40th, falcon ls3/5a, Graham ls6 (kind of equivalent to classic 3/1) and atc scm 11. Overall, personal preference is for the 4/5’s, but it’s close. They’re equally talented in my view, but have subtle difference. They ATC’s a pretty large and imposing in comparison in my bedroom setup. Lastly, the 4/5’s are much more slimline and domestically friendly, with nicer cabinet finish. I find more comfortable listening to the ATC’s 8ft away, but at that point the perceived bass drops off to below what the 4/5’s offer (from 6ft away), and are no longer as involving. Nearfield, at say 6ft away, the 4/5’s come into their own and disappear more, whereas the ATC’s are a bit forward for my tastes. The Spendor’s edge it on realism and emotional response. Tonally they are pretty similar – voices and instruments sound fantastic on both. Treble is of a decent quality, it’s just that the 4/5’s are particularly smooth. It’s not that the ATC’s are rough sounding – they’re really well balanced and neutral. The 4/5’s are just as detailed, but smooth rough edges a bit, and the soundstage (and details) stand a bit further back, meaning they are a more comfortable, inviting listen. So in essence, they are less forgiving on brighter, rougher recordings. That extra, precise detailing in the mids can be a bit tiring and the treble is subtly more pronounced and less silky than the 4/5’s. However, the ATC’s are also somewhat more forward. Lastly, I’d say they have a more solid-sound, in the sense of no cabinet coloration. Little intricacies pop out of the mix, which can be surprising at times. They also pick out and project a bit more detail across the frequency range, most noticeably in the mids. Still, it’s quite amazing how big and authorititive the 4/5’s sound in comparison (say 90%), despite being half the cabinet volume. Not much deeper, but noticeable all the same.

atc scm11 version 2

Like the 4/5’s in terms of articulation, tightness and integration, but they dig a little deeper. I’d say the ATC’s have three main advantages. So again, for the sake of curiosity, I thought a home demo was sensible.

atc scm11 version 2

Bit of a tangent, but to compare them against another speaker, I also had a home demo of ATC SCM11 over the weekend, as when I bought the 4/5’s (following a store demo), the ATC’s were a very close runner up at the time.











Atc scm11 version 2